lotus

previous page: 2.5 I want to announce an event!
  
page up: Dance FAQ
  
next page: 2.7 Subscribe me to your organisation, and send me all your information!

2.6 Who deletes messages after I've read them?




Description

This article is from the Dance FAQ, by eijkhout@jacobi.math.ucla.edu (Victor Eijkhout) with numerous contributions by others.

2.6 Who deletes messages after I've read them?




Newsgroups and the messages in them are kept on your local machine. No
one deletes them from the outside (ok, there is such a thing as a
cancel, but that is rare). Instead, your local system 'expires'
messages after they have been around for a while, usually a couple of
days. So don't propose on the newsgroup that messages should be kept
longer: that is purely a local matter on your machine. (This paragraph
does not apply to people that receive newsgroups via mailing lists:
most mail systems keep messages indefinitely.)



 

Continue to:













TOP
previous page: 2.5 I want to announce an event!
  
page up: Dance FAQ
  
next page: 2.7 Subscribe me to your organisation, and send me all your information!